Bfg project page

Dumping effects

Fauna species

Downloads


Typical fauna species

 

Links in the text refer to short video clips

Asterias rubens

The common starfish occurs in large numbers in the western Baltic. Asterias rubens is a typical predator, predominantly feeding on blue mussels. Here are short clips showing the escape reaction of a starfish during daytime and at night.

 

Arenicola marina

Arenicola marina is a polychaete worm, which lives in tube-shaped burrows inside the sediment. Its common name is either "lugworm" or "pierworm". Arenicola marina feeds on the substratum. The most remarkable attribute are twelve branched gills on its central part. Here is are two short clips of the faecal mound of a lugworm, one from the dumping site and one recorded in a laboratory aquarium.

 

Barnea candida

The white piddock Barnea candida lives in sublitoral and shallow coastal waters. It drills galleries in wood, peat and soft rocks (e.g. marl). See a short clip of holes drilled in marl (= glacial boulder clay).

 

Carcinus maenas

The crab is quite an active predator, living on soft bottom, sandy sediments or rocks alike. It also has a high osmoregulation capacity, i.e. a high tolerance for low salinity levels. This is a short clip showing a crab on sandy ripples in the dumping site area.

 

Macoma balthica

The baltic tellin is widespread in the Baltic, including the brackish northern parts. At the sediment surface, only a small sipho reveals the presence of Macoma balthica, which is used to filter and pipette food particles. The short clip shows this feeding behavior.

 

Mya arenaria

The sand gaper prefers sandy or silty sand sediments. It is found even in northern parts of the Baltic. Mya arenaria lives as a suspension feeder and burrows deep into the sediment. See a clip showing the filter feeding of a burrowed sand gaper. Some particles demonstrate the in- and exhalant currents. The clip was recorded under laboratory conditions.

 

Mytilus edulis

The body size of the blue mussel (Mytilus edulis) correlates with decreasing salinty levels in the Baltic. The mussel is a suspension feeder with high filtration rates. It needs hard substrates to attach its byssus threads. In the absence of suitable surfaces, mussels tend to form clumps or dense beds, firmly attached to each other. These conglomerates of blue mussels are shown in this clip from the dumping site 552a.

 

Pectinaria koreni

The trumpet worm usually feeds head-down on organic matter in the sediment. The short clip shows the tube aperture of a worm on the sediment surface, trying to dig back into the sediment of an aquarium.

 

Pygospio elegans

The bristleworm lives in sandy sediments and facultatively feeds on deposits or suspended matter. Dense populations are often called "tube lawns". The clip shows such a dense community of Pygospio elegans and the two tentacles can be seen flickering around in search for food particles.

Bfg-Projektseite

Verklappung

Faunavertreter

Downloads


Typische Faunavertreter

 

Die Links im Text verweisen auf Filmsequenzen

Asterias rubens

Der gemeine Seestern ist ein häufiger Vertreter in der westlichen Ostsee. Asterias rubens ist ein typischer Räuber, der Muscheln bevorzugt. Hier finden Sie einen kurzen Film mit der Fluchtreaktion eines Seesterns bei Tag und bei Nacht.

 

Arenicola marina

Arenicola marina ist ein Vertreter der Polychaeta (Vielborster), der in Sandröhren im Sediment lebt. Im Allgemeinen wird Arenicola marina als "Wattwurm" oder "Sandpier" bezeichnet. Arenicola marina ernährt sich als Substratfresser. Sein auffälligstes Merkmal sind die zwölf rot gefärbten Büschelkiemen am mittleren Körperteil. Hier finden Sie einen kurzen Film von den Kothaufen des Wattwurms an der Klappstelle und im Aquarium.

 

Barnea candida

Die Weiße Bohrmuschel bohrt in Holz, Torf und weiche Felsen (z.B. Mergel). Diese kommt vorwiegend im sublitoral und in flachen Küstenbereichen vor. Hier finden Sie einen kurzen Film von Öffnungen der Bohrgänge in Mergelschichten.

 

Carcinus maenas

Die Strandkrabbe ist ein sehr aktiver Räuber, der auf Sand,- Hart,- und Weichböden lebt. Sie dringt auch in Bereiche niedriger Salinität vor. Hier finden Sie einen kurzen Film über die Strandkrabbe auf dem mit Sandrippeln durchzogenen Sediment an der Klappstelle.

 

Macoma balthica

Die baltische Plattmuschel ist in der Ostsee weit verbreitet und erreicht auch die nördlichen Gebiete. An der Sedimentoberfläche sieht man von Macoma balthica nur den Einstromsipho, der zum Filtrieren und Pipettieren von Nahrungspartikeln genutzt wird. Hier finden Sie einen kurzen Film über die Nahrungsaufnahme von Macoma balthica.

 

Mya arenaria

Die Sandklaffmuschel bevorzugt Sand und schlickige Sandböden. Das Verbreitungsgebiet reicht bis in die nördlichen Teile der Ostsee. Mya arenaria ist in der Lage, sich tief ins Sediment einzugraben. Dort lebt sie als Suspensionsfresser. Hier finden Sie einen kurzen Film über die Filtration einer im Sediment eingegrabenen Sandklaffmuschel mit Ein,- und Ausstrom von Partikeln. Die Aufnahme entstand im Aquarium.

 

Mytilus edulis

Die Miesmuschel (Mytilus edulis) zeigt eine stark ausgeprägte Reduktion der Körpergröße mit fallendem Salzgehalt in der Ostsee. Sie haftet sich mit ihren Byssusfäden an hartes Substrat, einschließlich Artgenossen und bildet so Klumpen und im Extremfall Muschelbänke. Mytilus edulis ernährt sich als Suspensionsfresser und zeigt hohe Filtrationsaktivitäten. Hier finden Sie Filmsequenzen von der Klappstelle 552a, auf denen eine dichte Besiedlung mit Miesmuscheln zu erkennen ist.

 

Pectinaria koreni

Der Köcherröhrenwurm ist ein selektiver Substratfresser, der normalerweise kopfüber in einer stabilen Sandröhre im Sediment lebt. Hier finden Sie einen kurzen Film über den Versuch des Eingrabens von Pectinaria koreni im Aquarium.

 

Pygospio elegans

Der Sandröhrenwurm ist ein selektiver Epistrat,- und Suspensionsfresser, der bevorzugt in sandigen Sedimenten lebt. Bei einer dichten Besiedlung spricht man auch von "Röhrenrasen". Hier finden Sie einen kurzen Film mit einem dichten Rasen von Pygospio elegans, auf dem auch die zwei sehr dünnen Tentakel bei der Nahrungsaufnahme zu sehen sind.